Handball: Final draw for the Men’s EHF Euro 2014

The draw for the Men’s EHF EURO 2014 took place tonight in Denmark while spectators from all over the world could follow the draw online.

“The Men’s EHF Euro 2014 will be a true celebration of handball, and together with the four host cities and Sport Event Denmark we will contribute to the handball festivities inside and outside the arenas. We look forward to welcoming the 16 participating nations into the Danish handball culture. With the short distances between the arenas here in Denmark there will be good opportunities to follow the teams onsite right through from the preliminaries to the finals,” says Per Bertelsen, President, Danish Handball Federation.

“Now we know the composition of the four groups of the Men’s EHF Euro 2014, and we look forward to welcoming the participating nations as well as the rest of the European handball world to Denmark. Based on the event experiences the Danish Handball Federation, the four host cities and Sport Event Denmark we will display the unique Danish Handball culture. We hope to do this so well that Denmark can become host of Men’s World Championships in near future,” says Lars Lundov, CEO, Sport Event Denmark that partner the event.

Prior to the draw, Denmark, as the host nation, had the right to define one team per group. Following that decision, Denmark is placed in group 1 which will be played in Herning at the state of the art 14,000 capacity multi arena Jyske Bank Boxen.

Group A: Herning. Denmark* – Czech Republic – FYR Macedonia – Austria

Group B: Aalborg. Spain – Iceland – Hungary- Norway*

Group C: Aarhus. Serbia – France* – Poland – Russia
Group D: Copenhagen (Broendby): Croatia – Sweden*- Belarus – Montenegro

* Defined by Denmark as the organizer; placement depending on the pot of the respective team. (Which venues will host groups B, C and D respectively is to be determined)
For an overview, the 16 teams have been seeded as follows:

• Pot 1: Denmark, Serbia, Croatia, Spain

• Pot 2: Czech Republic, Iceland, France, Sweden

• Pot 3: FYR Macedonia, Belarus, Hungary, Poland

• Pot 4: Norway, Austria, Montenegro, Russia

Editor’s Note

Men’s EHF Euro 2014 will be staged form 12th of January to 26th of January 2014 in four host cities with 16 participating nations:

• Aalborg, Gigantium (Preliminary)

• Copenhagen, Broendby Hallen (Preliminary)

• Aarhus, NRGi Arena (Preliminary, main)

• Herning, Jyske Bank Boxen (Preliminary, main and final)

Denmark is defending champions. Men’s EHF Euro 2012 was staged in Serbia. The tournament was won by Denmark over Serbia.

Men’s EHF Euro has been organized since 1994 and is staged every two years. Denmark won bronze in 2002, 2004 and 2006. In 2008 Denmark took the gold medals.

Men’s EHF Euro 2014 is the first European Championship on Danish soil ever and the first finals since the World Championships in 1978.

Danish Handball Federation is hosting the Men’s EHF Euro 2014 for the European Handball Federation. Sport Event Denmark partners the event.


Per Bertelsen, president, Danish Handball Federation. Mobile +45 21 48 06 66

Lars Lundov, CEO, Sport Event Denmark. Mobile +45 40 31 48 55